Kitchen Nightmares

Today was a nightmare.

A kitchen nightmare.

This has only happened once or twice in my entire life. And I’m just a little bit mad it happened on a day like today, on a day when there are no leftovers in the refrigerator. Lucky for me, Engineer came home from work early today. See, he had to go in this morning at 5:30. Which meant that by the time 4:30 rolled around, he had put in a good 11 hours already. That’s plenty for anyone, I should think. He was cleaning up after Babycakes’ diaper blow out (yeah, this afternoon just kept getting better and better!), and I walked into the bathroom and said,

“Dinner is inedible. Think about what you’d like to do.”

Has that ever happened to you?

You pick a recipe that sounds easy enough (Tuscan White Bean and Roasted Garlic Soup from Skinny Taste, in my case), you make one minor tweak that shouldn’t affect the recipe at all (I chose to do it on the stove top with the quick soak method instead of in the crock pot; seeing as how I prepare beans like this quite regularly, I saw no harm), and it comes out completely inedible and doesn’t resemble the picture in the least.

I’m sure that never happens to you.

The thing is, I’ve made recipes from Skinny Taste before and had them turn out great! But, I really only have myself to blame. I should have listened to my instincts when the little alarm bell in my head was going off. I didn’t see anything about reserving the liquid and adding it to the soup until you reach a desired consistency, but that’s exactly what I thought I should have done, and I was right. My soup came out thin as water and bland as anything, despite the entire head of garlic.soup fail

I learned two valuable lessons that day. First, trust your inner chef! I knew I was headed for disaster and should have listened. If you spend any time cooking, you have intuitions too. Let them help you! Second, even disasters in the kitchen don’t have to be disasters (unless, you know, you light it on fire or your oven explodes; those qualify as disasters). It cost more, but Engineer saved the day by getting a Cafe Rio salad to go with our delicious (but misshapen…) rolls. Oh, except he had a free meal card, so it didn’t actually cost more. šŸ™‚ I wish I could say that I figured out a way to get dinner on the table in 10 minutes flat, but I didn’t. I thought about adding a slurry of cornstarch to the “soup,” but knew that that would end up as a disaster as well. It couldn’t help the fact that the soup was completely tasteless. We would have ended up with something resembling glue.cornmeal crescent rolls

The saddest part of all of this is that now I feel just a little gun-shy. It doesn’t help that it’s been a long week, but for a little while, I think I’ll stick with my tried-and-true recipes.

Leave a Reply

