Frog nog {Spinach Smoothie Recipe}

I think I am officially the last person to jump on the green smoothie bandwagon. I had such a hard time getting past the color for some reason…I suppose it doesn’t help that my friend calls it frog nog with her girls…it’s a clever sounding name, I’ll grant you, but it sure doesn’t sound appetizing to an adult.

But, I was desperate. After a week of birthday celebrations for Engineer, we just hadn’t eaten in enough to get through all the greens from our CSA. We still had a bagful of kale, and I needed to use it, pronto. I remembered seeing some green smoothie recipes in my Real Simple magazine from a few months back, and pulled it out. I made some minor adjustments based on what I had, and I threw caution to the wind. Or the blender, as it were.

ImageWhen it had come together, I tasted it. I could taste the bitter kale, and worried that Sous Chef would turn her nose up at it even though it wasn’t very strong. I added a frozen banana to try to mask the flavor. I’m not a big banana fan, so that was a real gamble for me. I poured myself and Sous Chef a glass, and she devoured it.

Absolutely devoured it.

And then asked for more! She drank two (kid-sized) cups full of kale smoothie, and I knew we had found a winner. I used the rest of the kale in smoothies throughout the week until Sous Chef complained of a sore mouth (the main fruit was pineapple…) and I ran out of kale. She begged for more, so I tried a variation on a different smoothie recipe from the Real Simple magazine and found a real winner. The kale smoothie had been easy enough to get down, but this spinach smoothie…now it was a treat!

We’ve made it several times, and I love how smooth it is without a banana. The texture is so perfect, and so superior to the kale smoothies I had been making. And it is so sweet, it’s absolutely delicious. I do wish it were a prettier and more appetizing shade of green, but Sous Chef doesn’t object, and I’m not about to complain about that.

If you have not yet made yourself a green smoothie, I suggest you try this one. It’s perfect for an entry smoothie into the world of green, and if you have picky kids, you might just find converts.

Especially if you call it frog nog.

Spinach Smoothie

adapted from Real Simple magazine (February 2013 I think)

serves 3-4

  • about 3 cups of spinach, washed, stems removed, and roughly chopped
  • about 1/2 pound strawberries
  • about 2 cups frozen mango chunks
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice

Layer the ingredients in the blender with the greens on the bottom with the liquid, then the strawberries, and finally the frozen mangoes (if you have a regular old blender and not a super power machine, this will make it easier to blend). Blend the smoothie, using a spoon to stir it up occasionally, until well blended. Serve, and watch your children devour the greens.

One thought on “Frog nog {Spinach Smoothie Recipe}

Leave a Reply

